The Conservation Advisory Board, created by statute, is composed of 10 members appointed by the Governor for alternating terms of six years, and three ex-officio members in the persons of the governor, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, and the Director of the Alabama Cooperative Extension system. The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources serves as the ex-officio secretary of the board.

The Advisory Board assists in formulating policies for the Department of Conservation, examines all rules and regulations and makes recommendations for their change or amendment. By a two-thirds vote of the members present and with the governor’s approval, the board can amend, make any changes, repeal or create and promulgate additional rules and regulations. The Board also assists in publicizing the department’s programs and activities.


  • There are currently no scheduled meetings of the CAB. (Below are standard rules for all meetings.)  
  • Those who wish to address the Board must register between 8:00 and 8:30 am.
  • The meeting will begin at 9:00 am. 
  • Please bring 18 copies of all documents you wish to distribute to the Board to the Registration Table.  Make sure your name and organization is on the each document.

Standing Rules

  • After registering before the meeting, the person wishing to speak should go to the designated microphone when called. After being recognized by the Chair, the person should first give his/her name, city and county. The time limit to speak is three minutes.
  • If several persons wish to speak on the same subject, the group should choose one speaker to represent them. The Chair may or may not choose to call on each person in that group to speak for additional information.
  • Questions or debate from Advisory Board members shall  be limited to 10 minutes.
  • No person may speak twice until all registered speakers have spoken, and then only at the discretion of the Chair.

Advisory Board Minutes

Advisory Board Map

Board Members (updated June 2015)


Contact Address

Term Expires

Congressional District

Dr. Warren Strickland, Chairman

4601 Whitesburg Drive
Suite 201

Huntsville, AL  35802


September 30, 2017


Austin Ainsworth

7520 Browns Valley Road
Guntersville, AL 35976

September 30, 2017


T.J. Bunn

1904 University Blvd.
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
March 28, 2021


Patrick Cagle

PO Box 1121
Montgomery, AL  36104

March 28, 2021


Joseph Dobbs, Jr.

3601 Parkwood Rd. SE
Bessemer, AL  35022

March 28, 2021


Grady Hartzog

PO Box 787
Eufaula, AL  36072

March 28, 2021


Raymond Jones, Jr.

PO Box 2545
Huntsville, AL  35804

May 9, 2019


Jeff Martin

2632 Martin Street South
Pell City, AL  35125

May 9, 2019


Ben C. Stimpson, Jr.

PO Box 1663
Mobile, AL  36633

September 30, 2017


Gary Wolfe

19698 S. Greeno Road
Fairhope, AL 36532

March 28, 2021


Ex-officio Members

  • Kay Ivey, Governor
  • Dr. Gary Lemme, Director, Alabama Cooperative Extension System
  • John McMillan, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Industries

Ex-officio Secretary of the Board

  • N. Gunter Guy, Jr., Commissioner, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources