The Alabama Conservation Advisory Board will hold its first scheduled meeting of 2012 on Saturday, February 4, in the State Capitol Auditorium in Montgomery, Ala. Registration for those wishing to address the board will be from 8 a.m. to 8:30 a.m., and the meeting will begin promptly at 9 a.m. Visitors should use the entrance behind the Capitol on North Union Street.

The Conservation Advisory Board assists in formulating policies for the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (ADCNR), examines all rules and regulations and makes recommendations for their change or amendment. This includes hunting seasons and bag limits. The board is comprised of 10 members appointed by the governor for alternating terms of six years. Dan Moultrie of Verbena, Ala., currently serves as chairman. Additional Conservation Advisory Board members include Austin Ainsworth of Guntersville, Ala., Grady Hartzog of Eufaula, Ala., Bill Hatley of Gulf Shores, Ala., Brock Jones of Tuscaloosa, Ala., Raymond Jones Jr. of Huntsville, Ala., W. Grant Lynch Jr. of Talladega, Ala., Joseph Dobbs Jr. of Bessemer, Ala., Dr. Bob Shipp of Mobile, Ala., and Dr. Warren Strickland of Huntsville, Ala.

The three ex-officio members of the Conservation Advisory Board include Governor Robert Bentley, Agriculture Commissioner John McMillan, and Alabama Cooperative Extension System Director Dr. Gary Lemme. ADCNR Commissioner N. Gunter Guy Jr. serves as the ex-officio secretary of the Board.

The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources promotes wise stewardship, management and enjoyment of Alabama’s natural resources through five divisions: Marine Police, Marine Resources, State Lands, State Parks, and Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries. To learn more about ADCNR visit