Friday, February 5, 2016 - 6:00pm to Saturday, February 13, 2016 - 7:00pm

2016 Dates
February: 5-6, 12-13, 19-20

Fridays: 6 p.m. Orientation Social with live music and refreshments
7 p.m. Nature Program

Saturdays: Field trips to an eagle’s nest, roost sites, Cathedral Caverns State Park, High Falls Park
2 p.m. and 7 p.m. Birds of Prey Programs

Lodging Packages Available

Lake Guntersville State Park Website

Saturday, February 6, 2016 - 5:00am

The next Special Youth Waterfowl Hunting Day is February 6, 2016. The regular waterfowl season shooting hours, bag limits, and legal arms and ammunitions apply to the special days. Individuals must follow the listed rules to participate in the scheduled youth waterfowl hunts.

Friday, February 12, 2016 - 12:00am to Monday, February 15, 2016 - 12:00pm

Participation in the Great Backyard Bird Count is open to everyone. Instructions on how to count and submit your list is found here.

Oak Mountain State Park invites you to count with them on Feb. 13 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Wednesday, February 17, 2016 - 8:00am

Join park naturalists and local birders to view bald eagles, waterfowl, and winter song birds around Lake Guntersville State Park.

Meet in the lodge lobby at 8 am on the following dates:

February 17 (Wednesday)

Cameras and binoculars are recommended. If you love Eagle Awareness weekends you won’t want to miss these special outings!

Saturday, February 20, 2016 - 9:00am

The first meeting of the Conservation Advisory Board in 2016 will be Feb. 20, 2016 at 9 a.m.

  • Those who wish to address the board must register between 8 a.m. - 8:30 am.
  • The meeting will begin at 9 a.m. 
  • Please bring 16 copies of all documents you wish to distribute to the board to the registration table.
Friday, February 26, 2016 - 6:00pm to Sunday, February 28, 2016 - 11:30am

Joe Wheeler State Park Hosts its Third Focus on Nature Photography Weekend.

Lodging packages available.

Saturday, March 19, 2016 - 8:00am

Extreme 10k, 5k and Fun Run - prizes will be awarded

Entry Fee: On or before March 7, 2016 = $30; Fun Run = $10
After March 7 and Race Day = $40; Fun Run = $10

Register before March 7 to receive a t-shirt on race day. 

Saturday, March 26, 2016 - 10:00am to 2:00pm

Four hunts will take place along with other fun activities like hayrides.

 

Thursday, April 7, 2016 - 8:30am

Join us for the NASP State Championship in Montgomery

 

Saturday, June 11, 2016 - 5:30am

No fishing license needed on June 11 -- it's free fishing day!

Saturday, October 1, 2016 - 8:00am to Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - 5:00pm

More than 300 scarecrows are spread along the trails at Frank Jackson State Park.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016 - 6:00pm to Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 5:00pm

The 13th annual Alabama Coastal BirdFest is Oct. 5-8, 2016.

Alabama Coastal BirdFest is an annual event with guided trips, speakers, dinners, and free activities on the beautiful Alabama Gulf Coast.

Trips and evening events require advance registration. Registration opens in early August.

Visit www.AlabamaCoastalBirdFest.com to learn more.