Frequently Answered Questions about Alabama Fishing and Hunting Licenses
At what age must I purchase a hunting or fishing license?
At 16 years of age.
Why is my Social Security Number required when purchasing a hunting/fishing license?
The Social Security Number is required by State and Federal Law when purchasing or renewing recreational licenses. Click to see the law.
I’m 65 years of age and a resident of Alabama. Must I purchase a hunting or fishing license?
No. Residents of Alabama 65 years of age and older are not required to purchase a license. You must have proof of residence and age, like an Alabama Driver's License, etc.
How is residency determined?
Residency is determined by the state of the driver's license. You can not be a resident of more than one state. Read more.
I am a non-resident over 65 years of age. Must I purchase a fishing license to fish the public waters of Alabama?
Yes. Non-residents 16 years of age and older must first purchase a fishing license before fishing the public waters of Alabama. Read more.
I’m active duty military and a resident of Alabama home on leave. Must I purchase a hunting/fishing license?
No, residents on active duty home on leave may hunt and fish without license (must have proof of leave in their possession). Read more.
I’m a non-resident but stationed in Alabama with the military. Must I purchase a hunting/fishing license?
Yes, but you are allowed to purchase a resident hunting and/or fishing license. Read more.
How can I contact my local officer or biologist?
You can get the telephone number to your local district office by looking in the contact us section.
I am an exempt hunter. How do I get my H.E.L.P. number for Game Check?
This is available at any local license agent, probate office, online or by phone (1-888-848-6887).
Is there a special hunting license for disabled veterans?
Yes. The Annual Miliary Veteran's Appreciation Hunting License to veterans with a minimum of 50% disability or those veterans who are 100% disabled as certified by the Administration. Available at your local probate office or by mailing with DCNR.
Does Alabama have a disabled hunting license?
No, Alabama does not have a disabled hunting license.
Must I purchase a federal migratory bird hunting stamp in addition to a state duck stamp to waterfowl hunt?
Yes, all persons 16 years of age and older are required to purchase a federal duck stamp when hunting migratory waterfowl.
I am a resident of Alabama. Must I purchase a hunting license to hunt on lands I own in Alabama?
No, residents of Alabama and their immediate family are not required to purchase a hunting license to hunt on property they own. Read more.
I am a nonresident but own land in Alabama. Must I purchase a hunting license to hunt on this property?
Yes, you are required to purchase a nonresident hunting license. Read more.
I have lost my hunter education certification card. Where can I get a replacement?
You can print a replacement card online by clicking on the Hunting menu.
Why am I being asked for my hunter education card or number when I buy a fishing license?
The Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007 created a Wildlife Heritage License and it's included at no charge on all resident freshwater fishing licenses. Privileges allows:
- residents to fish in freshwater statewide with hook and line from the bank
- residents to fish in WFF operated Public Fishing Lakes (daily lake permits required)
- residents to hunt small game, except waterfowl, on WFF WMA (WMA permit required)
- residents to shoot on WFF managed shooting ranges
- residents to support wildlife
- These privileges are also included in all resident hunting and freshwater fishing licenses (excludes the $1 Disabled Fishing License), including lifetime licenses.
- residents who have not completed the hunter education course, and are required to, will have a fishing license that indicates supervision required. This is not for fishing, but for the hunting component of the Wildlife Heritage license included in the fishing license.
Is there a special fishing license for disabled persons?
Yes. Persons that are totally disabled and have been a resident of Alabama for six months may obtain this license for $1.00. Applications can be obtained online (click on License Menu) from the Probate Judge or License Commissioner in the county in which they reside.
Is there a special fishing license for disabled veterans?
Yes. The Annual Military Veteran"s Appreciation Freshwater License available to veterans with a minimum of 20% disability as certified by the Veteran's Administration. Applications can be obtained online (click on License Menu) or visit your local Probate Judge or License Commissioner in the county in which they reside. Must present Veteran's Administration certification.
Do I need a fishing license to fish from the bank?
A license is not required to fish from the bank only in the county of residence with ordinary hook and line.
Can I fish from my pier in public waters without a fishing license?
Normal fishing license requirements apply to fishing in public freshwaters of Alabama from a private pier.
Is a fishing license required to fish private lakes or ponds?
No. Fishing licenses are only required to fish in public waters. Permission of the pond owner is required to fish a private lake or pond.
I have a lifetime license that is broken and hard to read. Can I get a replacement?
This can be done at your local probate office (you will receive a temporary license) or by mail with DCNR (download the application - click on the License menu). You can make a copy of your license so you will have the license in the field. There is no charge if you turn in your old card.
I have lost my lifetime license. Can I get a replacement?
This can be done at your local probate office (you will receive a temporary license) or by mail with DCNR (download the application - click on the License menu). There is a $5 charge for replacement.
Can I purchase a lifetime license for my children?
You are able to purchase lifetime licenses for your children. You would have to do this at your local probate office or mail in an application to this office. You would need to provide proofs of residence (birth certificate, SSN, copy of parents AL driver’s license, and current enrollment in daycare, statement from doctor’s office, or proof of insurance). If their lifetime license includes hunting, by the time they turn 16, if they have passed a hunter education class, you would provide a copy to this office and the lifetime card would be updated and returned. If not, the license would be valid for hunting under supervision.
I have a lifetime license but need the annual HIP certification. Can I get the HIP stamp?
Yes. The HIP stamp can be issued from any license agent or through the online system. HIP is required of all licensed hunting (residents 16-64 and nonresidents 16 and over).
Special Disabled Archery Permit
What are the requirements for a person to be issued a Special Disabled Archery permit?
A person must have a permanent physical impairment that prevents them from being able to draw or hold a bow with a minimum peak tension of 35 pounds. This permit would allow a person to utilize a device that will hold a long bow, recurve bow or compound bow at full draw.
How do I obtain this permit? To obtain this permit your medical doctor must write a short letter that contains the following information:
- Your name and address and that you are a patient of the doctor.
- That you have a permanent physical impairment.
- Briefly describe this impairment.
- A statement that due to this permanent physical impairment you are unable to draw or hold a bow with a minimum peak tension of 35 pounds.
- Your medical doctor must sign the letter.
- Letter should be mailed to AWFF, 64 N. Union St., Room 559, Montgomery, AL 36104.